Other Specified Feeding or Eating Disorders

Other specified feeding or eating disorder (OSFED) is a DSM-5 category that, along with unspecified feeding or eating disorder (UFED), replaces the category formerly called eating disorder not otherwise specified (EDNOS) in the DSM-IV-TR.[1] It captures feeding disorders and eating disorders of clinical severity that do not meet diagnostic criteria for anorexia nervosa (AN), bulimia nervosa (BN), binge eating disorder (BED), avoidant/restrictive food intake disorder (ARFID), pica, or rumination disorder.[2] OSFED includes five examples:

atypical anorexia nervosa,
atypical bulimia nervosa of low frequency and/or limited duration,
binge eating disorder of low frequency and/or limited duration,
purging disorder, and
night eating syndrome (NES).[2]


Cluster Number:
Wiki Number: PW148
Diagnosis: Other Specified Feeding or Eating Disorders
US Patients:
World Patients:
Sex Ratio:
Age Onset:
Brain Area:
Symptoms: This is a “catch-all” category which is for eating disorders that don’t have enough intensity or longevity criteria.
Causes: By joining previously less-studied difficulties, it was hoped more would seek medical help and more insurers would pay.


The world-wide medical research
reports chosen for each diagnosis 

Clicking each title opens the
PubMed article’s summary-abstract.